A Bento a Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Bento #2: split pea soup and Spam onigiri October 29, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — slongcoat @ 2:00 am

It’s been really rainy and gray lately, so I made some split pea soup.  I started with smoked pork bones, added half an onion and some water, then the peas and let it simmer away.  Carrot coins joined in at the end, and I’m pretty happy with the results.  It’s amazing how much soup half a bag of peas will make.  I was most excited, however, about my Spam onigiri. 

I don’t have all that much experience with Japanese food other than the typical fare that everyone loves: sushi, sashimi, tempura, wakame salad…  in my bento research, I found onigiri to be a staple of a rounded bento lunch.  For mine, I started with a bowl of precooked sushi rice, which reheats BEAUTIFULLY.  (my mom would freak out if she knew I bought prepared rice, so let’s keep this between us)  Without a mold, I used a sheet of plastic wrap in a small sauce bowl.  I sprinkled it with salt, spooned in some rice, added diced Spam, and gathered up the corners to make a flattened ball onigiri.  I finished with a strip of nori… maybe too much, but I really like the salty ocean taste of it.

The baby carrots and sugar snap peas made an encore performance, but I used some natural almonds as my fillers.   I can’t wait to find a bigger bento; it would be nice to be able to fit some dessert in there somewhere…

Bento #2

Lunch for 10/29/09: split pea soup, Spam onigiri, almonds, carrots, and sugar snap peas

 

One Response to “Bento #2: split pea soup and Spam onigiri”

  1. Ginnie Says:

    Oh, bentos! I tried this but I only made one. My roommates (all guys) made fun of me. It was a little discouraging but it was so fun because you can get so creative!


Leave a Reply

